Sunday, January 31, 2010

Endless rows of books

After a failed quest to search for the frame at Bras Basah complex, we dropped by National Library to borrow some books.

Cheers to the completion of 1st month photo taking journey!

Saturday, January 30, 2010

I'm up in the air

It is tough to capture people's expression, especially genuine, candid one. This is the most successful shot, so far. The laughters and joy are so real.. you'd feel equally happy just by watching them.

Friday, January 29, 2010

No green thumb

I've to admit I've no green thumb. My 'gardening' activities only revolve around watering a few potted plants every morning, always in a rush. I did not even notice that each of this plant's leaf has its own signature pattern in darker green - unique for each leaf; and that it has more leaves with holes than healthy ones; if not for this photo taking.

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Travel diary

Happy with my purchase today - 2 travel diaries. At $2 each, they are packed with interesting photos, but slim and lightweight enough to be carried around. I usually bring one such notebook for jotting down things worth remembering while traveling.

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Es teler 77

Had this bowl of es teler 77 at City Plaza. At $4, it's expensive, but at least the amount of coconut, jackfruit and avocado slices were decent enough.

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Experiment with DOF

Shot random objects at home to experiment with depth of field.

Monday, January 25, 2010

First completed puzzle

Stream of Kamikouchi puzzle, completed.
Next task: find a matching frame.

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Green on green

Passed by this tree when we were maneuvering around Joo Chiat area this afternoon. Note to self: do not go to Joo Chiat on weekends.

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Between the two towers

.. there lies Benjamin Sheares bridge, the longest (1.8km) and tallest (20m) bridge in Singapore.
This photo was taken from one of Pan Pacific's elevators. Great panoramic view for a free elevator ride :)

Friday, January 22, 2010

Japanese curry

Japanese curry with diced chicken and carrot for dinner.

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Chinese New Year Fair

Some of the stuff sold at Chinese New Year fair at Hougang. Everything's in red and gold, except this figurine.

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Maiden drive out of Singapore

We finally drove the car out of the country for the first time. This is one of the many road signs near the checkpoint.

Petrol - checked
Delicious dinner - checked
Car wash - checked

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Healthy snacks

Happened to have colorful selection of fruits in the fridge, and nothing else more interesting to take photographs of.

Monday, January 18, 2010

Broccoli with oyster sauce

New on the menu: broccoli and beef with oyster sauce.

Sunday, January 17, 2010

Alexandra Arch

Second attempt at slow shutter speed, taken below Alexandra Arch.

Saturday, January 16, 2010

Pineapple tree

We've never seen pineapple trees until now. Spotted two of these at car park area of Batam International Ferry Terminal.

Friday, January 15, 2010

A walk in the park

Love this shot, taken at Punggol Park.

This humble brown sneakers have been with me throughout my trips to New Zealand, Europe, Cameron Highlands and Macau.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

When the world is going gaga over iPhone

... I choose nokia
with a pink back cover and matching stylus :)

Wednesday, January 13, 2010


Sauce dispenser at Ikea Tampines. Goes well with $1 hot dog..

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Tough choice

B&J s'mores, B&J chocolate chip cookie dough, or magnum golden hazelnut?

Monday, January 11, 2010

New project

A new project we embarked upon: 1000 piece puzzle titled Stream of Kamikouchi.

Sunday, January 10, 2010

The old food centre

Had lunch at this soon-to-be demolished 40-year-old Queenstown food centre at Margaret Drive. Bought 1 glass of the cold and refreshing grass jelly for 60c.

Saturday, January 9, 2010

Roses are red

Helped out friends in their celebration of love today at the receptionists' table. Here're some of the many red roses.

Friday, January 8, 2010

First attempt at slow shutter speed

Junction of Sengkang East Road and Sengkang East Ave on a not-so-busy Friday night.

Thursday, January 7, 2010

Water droplets

Experimented with tap water, some colorful bowls, cups and fingers :)

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

What's for dinner today

A friend in Duri told me he was having soto mi for lunch. That's how I knew what's for dinner today. I just hope I won't post snapshots of food too often, although good food is definitely something I cherish. And oh, I had this bowl with a plate of tahu bacem. Heavenly.

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Slow down

Take time to smell the flowers.

Monday, January 4, 2010

One more look at 2009

First working day in 2010. Time to replace that old calendar with the new one.

Sunday, January 3, 2010

A taste of Egypt

Bedouin tea leaves brought from Egypt.

Saturday, January 2, 2010

A life unfolds

One cool afternoon at Evolution Garden, Singapore Botanic Gardens.

Friday, January 1, 2010

The piece of a puzzle I need

You are the piece
Of a puzzle I need
To make my life
Full and complete
I love you so
And thanks for being
My best friend

(My Best Friend - Atlantic Starr)